Women in the workplace?

Christian ethics and theology with an Anabaptist perspective
steve-in-kville
Affiliation: Hippie Anabaptist

Women in the workplace?

Post by steve-in-kville »

Beings we have a pretty diverse crowd here, I thought this would make for an interesting topic to discuss. Some groups have written statements on the young ladies as well as married women working away from the home. Others have unwritten guidelines. So where do we draw the line? Are there certain jobs/positions our sisters should avoid? Should they have the same opportunities as a man?

For sure a hot topic in todays culture! :D
0 x
I self-identify as a conspiracy theorist. My pronouns are told/you/so.

Owner/admin at https://milepost81.com/
My *almost* daily blog: https://milepost81.com/blog/
For railfans: https://milepost81.com/home/random-railfan-posts/
steve-in-kville

Re: Women in the workplace?

I'll start.

My workplace employs women in just about every category possible (I work in a warehouse). We have females picking orders along side men. We've had female truck drivers. I remain neutral on that, as I have really no opinion.

Where I do draw issue is when women are put in management positions, especially when their boss is a man. That just causes all manner of issues, as I've seen happen over and over in various companies.

My wife worked at a dry goods store until we were married, and I wanted her to stay home. I didn't want to get in the groove of relying on a second income to make ends meet. The first year we were married, she did do some seasonal work in greenhouse, but that was until children came along. Once the family is older, I wouldn't mind if she wants to work part-time somewhere, but that's up to her.
0 x

JimFoxvog
Affiliation: MCUSA

Post by JimFoxvog »

Yes, I believe women should have the same opportunities in the workplace as men.