praise

When it just doesn't fit anywhere else.
MaxPC
Affiliation: PlainRomanCatholic

praise

Post by MaxPC »

As an old professor, I'm accustomed to praising students when I see an outstanding effort. There was a 30 something young man named John who was making a beautiful wood carving of a bird. I watched for awhile, we chatted and then I told him it was the most beautiful wood carving I had ever seen. His face turned red. I realized that overt praise was uncomfortable. I don't know if that was because of a personal reason or his culture but I've been careful afterwards though I do slip into overt praise on occasion.
0 x
Max (Plain Catholic)
Mt 24:35
Proverbs 18:2 A fool does not delight in understanding but only in revealing his own mind.
1 Corinthians 3:19 For the wisdom of this world is folly with God
steve-in-kville
Affiliation: Hippie Anabaptist

Re: praise

Post by steve-in-kville »

As for hearing praise, all I ask is that the person giving it is sincere. I had a boss or two over the years that went overboard, telling me I'm doing a great job only to roast me about something later in a performance review.

As for giving praise, at least in the home, I try to tell the children "good job" when tasks and chores are done without pitching a fuss. Its one thing to do what's expected. Another when someone goes above and beyond. Know the difference.
0 x
I self-identify as a conspiracy theorist. My pronouns are told/you/so.

Owner/admin at https://milepost81.com/
For parents, railfans, and much more!
MaxPC
Affiliation: PlainRomanCatholic

Post by MaxPC »

steve-in-kville wrote:As for hearing praise, all I ask is that the person giving it is sincere. I had a boss or two over the years that went overboard, telling me I'm doing a great job only to roast me about something later in a performance review.