School project

When it just doesn't fit anywhere else.
COVIDpsychresearch
Affiliation: Catholic

School project

Post by COVIDpsychresearch »

Hello!

I know I am a newer member and have not been very active since joining over the summer. I finally ironed out some details of my project with my school's IRB, so I am putting this out there again.

I am a graduate psychology student at a Christian University. For my degree, I decided to do a research project looking at the experiences of Christians who believe or engage with alternative stories about the COVID-19 vaccines that counter mainstream reporting. It is a topic that is close to me, as I have seen how the topic has created division within my family and the global church. At the height of the pandemic, there was so much animosity from both sides, which does not represent the love of God. In particular, I am interested in how it impacts different denominations that I am not familiar with, such as Mennonites and Anabaptists. I have a lot of respect for the beliefs and traditions associated with your faith tradition.

Here are some examples of the interview questions:

1. When did you start digging deeper into alternative vaccine stories?
2.What types of emotions do feel when thinking about the alternative stories?
3. What do you find helpful in growing closer to God and others? Where do you see God working during the past two years globally?
4. As a Christian, I know you understand that God has everything in his hands. Also, you know that God has a plan, etc. In Matthew 6:26-34, recounts the parable about “the birds of the air” who trust in their Heavenly father to provide for them. What does it mean to trustfully wait on the Lord in these stories? What does it mean amidst the events happening in the world today with the pandemic?

Although it is not much, I am able to offer $5 if you would like to be a participant in my project. Being a graduate student does not always pay well!