Mennonite verb tense usage

The lighter side of things. A place for humor and joyful things.
Praxis+Theodicy
Affiliation: Seeker

Mennonite verb tense usage

Post by Praxis+Theodicy »

Okay. I'm new to Mennonite culture, about 6 months now. Something has been burning a hole in my brain and I just can't go any longer without asking about this.

A lot of conversations with Mennonites and non-mennonite Kingdom Christians (who have spent time in Mennonite churches) have included plenty of relating stories of our lives. And here's thing thing I notice:

Mennonites relate things using a specific word tense. I thought this was just the first few people I talked to, but I've found that it's very widespread, across geography and across generations.

Where I would say something like "I went to that college," my conversation partners say "I would've gone to that college." Where I would say "I went to a baptist church growing up, my Mennonote friends say "I would've gone to a baptist church growing up."

Not "We were with the CMC at that time." Instead, it's "We would've been with the CMC at that time." No one says "I started reading early Christian writings around that time." Instead, it's "I would've started reading early Christian writings around that time." No one says "This was 5 years ago." It's "This would've been 5 years ago."

I have been listening to a lot of podcasts, like Anabaptist Perspectives, Armchair Anabaptist, Strength to Strength, Unfeigned Christianity... a lot of these podcasts included guests and lecturers who came from outside the Mennonite world, but this verbal habit has caught them too. I've heard David Bercot and Dean Taylor actually correct themselves. They say things like "I was in the army at this... uh, I would've been in the army at this time." Or "As you know, I was brought up... um, I would've been brought up in the Jehovah's Witnesses church."