Personality traits

A place to relate, share, care for, and support one another. A place to share about our daily activities and events around the home.
Robert
Site Janitor
Affiliation: Anabaptist

Personality traits

Post by Robert »

Verity wrote: Thu Apr 04, 2024 2:05 pm I have a child who is neurodivergent, a sibling, an uncle, cousins and several close friends. It does NOT mean autistic. Someone with ADHD or ADD is considered neurodivergent. Personally I hate labels, but they can help us to understand one another at times, especially when we are not relating face to face in real life. I work in health care and have for years so this is not something I am hazy about. People who are neurodivergent are highly intelligent (my uncle hold 5 degrees). They see life through a different perspective than many of us, and that is valuable.
I have multiple traits. I have ADHD, Dyslexia, and I think I am on the spectrum of Autism. I think I am barely on it, but I do see some traits. Some new research suggests anyone with ADD is on the Autism Spectrum.

Some of my "traits" are from the lightning strike. Some I had before that. I have come to terms with my traits. I can see where some may be upset if they are asked. I am not. It is just me and the way my brain works. God shaped me and my life to be who I am. If I think there is something "wrong" with me, then I am judging God. I have had to accept me for the way I am.

I think I gain so much from my traits. I do not see them as disorders. I think that is left brained boxes that can not accept someone that thinks and functions differently.

I have never heard the term neurodivergent. I am curious about it and would like to know where it comes from and what it means.
2 x
Try hard not to offend. Try harder not to be offended.
Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they are not after you.
I think I am funnier than I really am.
steve-in-kville
Affiliation: Hippie Anabaptist

Re: Personality traits

Post by steve-in-kville »