Best argument for Non-resistance

General Christian Theology
LJones
Affiliation: Orthodox

Best argument for Non-resistance

Post by LJones »

Hello guys...

I was having a discussion with my priest today about non-resistance, self-defense, etc. As many of you know, I am a public school teacher. So, the discussion of gun ownership, etc. has been surrounding me of late. After I left the Anabaptist realm I swung back to the justified defense side of things. The recent shootings have got me thinking more and more about this position. I am sincerely struggling with my current position and where I have been.

This is the thing. I cannot see myself sitting idly by while my family or even my students are attacked and killed. My priest seems to be very non-resistant and is resigned to do no harm (he even mentioned the Martyr's Mirror today). Matter of fact any Orthodox priest who kills someone (on intention or accident) ceases to be a priest. So, it could be said that there is a strain of Non-Resistance in Orthodoxy. However, it is left up to the individual.

I was wondering if you guys would mind helping me re-think the issues and come to an area of peace within myself.

What should I do if my family are students are attacked?
0 x
Wade
Affiliation: kingdom Christian

Re: Best argument for Non-resistance

Post by Wade »

If you can find the book: Love as Jesus Taught It by Fred Nighswander, this book got me encouraged and off the fence.
0 x
Hats Off
Affiliation: Plain Menno OO

Post by Hats Off »

I have never faced threats so can only speak theoretically.

For the believer, death should ultimately hold no fear. Jesus told us that we should expect persecution if we follow him. If someone is threatening my wife or daughter and we kill them to protect our family, we are condemning that someone to hell. If my family were to be killed, we would be in a better place. Violence just leads to more violence. Vengeance belongs to God.