What it means to me to be Mennonite

Christian ethics and theology with an Anabaptist perspective
haithabu
Affiliation: Missionary Church

What it means to me to be Mennonite

Post by haithabu »

Mennonites cover such a range of beliefs and practices that one might wonder if there is any common core left. I see two common elements though which I think still apply to most groups:

1) The tribal glue which is (almost literally) the spilled blood of the our forefathers and their shared experience of persecution, abuse, exclusion and exile. This folk memory is transmitted down to many of us through family stories and histories and it is a very strong binding element, to many even more significant than their forebears' actual faith.

2) Jesus as the new Moses - in spite of its sometimes convoluted ramifications our orthopraxy ultimately centers around the Sermon on the Mount.

I share those elements though I have been worshipping outside the Menno community for the last 19 years. One thing I do NOT do though is refer to the "Mennonite" faith. Mennonites should be seen as Christians pure and simple though with a unique set of normatives.
1 x
Josh
Affiliation: The church of God

Re: What it means to me to be Mennonite

Post by Josh »

haithabu wrote: Tue Aug 31, 2021 1:57 pm Mennonites cover such a range of beliefs and practices that one might wonder if there is any common core left. I see two common elements though which I think still apply to most groups:

1) The tribal glue which is (almost literally) the spilled blood of the our forefathers and their shared experience of persecution, abuse, exclusion and exile. This folk memory is transmitted down to many of us through family stories and histories and it is a very strong binding element, to many even more significant than their forebears' actual faith.
Since my forefathers weren't Mennonites, this doesn't mean very much to me. My forefathers went and fought in World War II, and before that, in European conflicts.