Ms. Izzie's Advice - Men Do Something!

Christian ethics and theology with an Anabaptist perspective
AnthonyMartin
Affiliation: LMC

Ms. Izzie's Advice - Men Do Something!

Post by AnthonyMartin »

This seems like excellent advice to me and thought it would be worth a thread to collect best practices to do just this. As a pastor I would very much appreciate input on ways to accomplish this.

This ok with you Ms. Izzie?

We've done background checks, try to support young families in educating children on healthy approaches to sex, shadow individuals who make some uneasy, etc...

Can we help each other in this way?
Ms. Izzie wrote:I have an idea.

One man from every congregation represented on this forum (or those who only read) take it upon himself to do something about the issue of sexual abuse in his own congregation.

You don't have to believe it's happening in your own congregation, nor do you need to believe that it is a scourge among Anabaptists. You just be willing to make sure it doesn't happen in your congregation. Suggest steps consistently for however long it takes to ensure that in your congregation this issue is dealt with, and hopefully for most of you it would be preventative measures, instead of dealing with actual abuse cases.

It is hard to make progress on the issue of sexual abuse in a culture where women are told to be submissive, until men step up and protect women and children in their midst.
0 x
Bootstrap
Affiliation: Mennonite

Re: Ms. Izzie's Advice - Men Do Something!

Post by Bootstrap »

If I want to do something, what should I do?
0 x
Is it biblical? Is it Christlike? Is it loving? Is it true? How can I find out?
AnthonyMartin
Affiliation: LMC

Post by AnthonyMartin »

Bootstrap wrote:If I want to do something, what should I do?
Exactly
0 x
Ms. Izzie
Affiliation: CA

Post by Ms. Izzie »