Sysadmin Wanted

Where we talk about modern advancements like the abacus and printing press.
Franklin
Affiliation: Old Testament

Sysadmin Wanted

Post by Franklin »

Yes I do realize that a Conservative Mennonite forum is not the ideal place to look for a system administrator. But I would prefer working with a moral person, and there is no harm in asking, so...

I am looking for a sysadmin to remotely manage Mac OS-X servers that will run java-based web servers. We also use Postgres. Pay is $5000/month. Please contact me if you are interested.
0 x
Josh
Affiliation: The church of God

Re: Sysadmin Wanted

Post by Josh »

Out of curiousity what hardware platform do you use?
0 x
solarsteve
Affiliation: Mennonite

Post by solarsteve »

Franklin, i have an interest in your position of sysadmin. I used to be a sysadmin back in the late 1980's, when i first learned Unix(ultrix), VMS and Sun's version of Unix. Ever since i discovered PC's could run Linux, back in the late 1990s, i have been using that. I am not the most learned in it - i don't use it in a production environment - but i have learned (and forgotten) many programming languages and scripting shells. I have a decent internet connection (last mile a wireless link from the village of Tiskilwa, IL designed and implemented by me in about the early 2000 when we outgrew our satellite internet connection) and have a business helping folks in the rural area to get internet service and network their appliances together. I don't know about the publicity of this board, so i am lothe to post my email or phone number directly here. I would be interested in talking with you further about the job requirements, what on-site work might be needed (and where the site is, if needed), what time commitment we are talking about, and other such particulars. If you know a way to post something that would be private to the two of us, i would give you my contact information. Otherwise, i am not sure what i feel good about posting here, o