Static vs Automatic IP Address Assignment

Where we talk about modern advancements like the abacus and printing press.
Neto
Affiliation: Gospel Haven

Static vs Automatic IP Address Assignment

Post by Neto »

Just wanted to start a fight here about static vs automatic IP Addresses..... :angel (I told a customer recently that while each approach has some advantages, when you get the two sides together, it's like Democrats & Republicans.)
0 x
Congregation: Gospel Haven Mennonite Fellowship, Benton, Ohio (Holmes Co.) a split from Beachy-Amish Mennonite.
Personal heritage & general theological viewpoint: conservative Mennonite Brethren.
mike
Affiliation: ConMen

Re: Static vs Automatic IP Address Assignment

Post by mike »

Neto wrote:Just wanted to start a fight here about static vs automatic IP Addresses..... :angel (I told a customer recently that while each approach has some advantages, when you get the two sides together, it's like Democrats & Republicans.)
I am not an IT expert but I manage my small business network and know a little about static vs. dynamic, leases/reservations/ranges. I sure would hate if my scales, registers, printers, and terminals had IP addresses that hopped around all over the place... so I'm guessing the static fans are the Republicans, and the dynamic fans are the Democrats? :D
0 x
Remember the prisoners, as though you were in prison with them, and the mistreated, as though you yourselves were suffering bodily. -Heb. 13:3
QuietObserver
Affiliation:

Post by QuietObserver »

At my job we use both. I guess that makes me an independent.
0 x
Neto
Affiliation: Gospel Haven

Post by Neto »

mike wrote:I sure would hate if my scales, registers, printers, and terminals had IP addresses that hopped around all over the place... so I'm guessing the static fans are the Republicans, and the dynamic fans are the Democrats? :D